Tremont Studios Collingwood
Visiting Tremont Studios is an authentic and energizing experience. Located in the Creative Simcoe Street neighbourhood, on the second floor of a former 1889 hotel – there are 10 working artists in individual studios, creating a diverse and stunning variety of art. The hallways of the building serve as a gallery with new shows every second month. The studios are open to the public to meet the artists. Also located in the building is the Tremont Cafe. HISTORY The Tremont House was built in 1889 by John McCormick as a 24 room hotel and is one of the last remaining 19th century hotel buildings in the Collingwood Downtown Heritage Conservation District. It was erected during the active building period after the 1881 fire that devastated a large part of the downtown. It was built in only 3 months during a time when many of the town’s wooden structures were replaced by brick buildings. The proximity of the hotel to the railway station made it a popular destination for travellers, including many Americans through the mid 1900’s as they came to Collingwood to spend their summers here. Operated as a hotel for over 100 years, the Tremont still carries its original name and is an important historical link to Collingwood’s booming railway and shipbuilding era. The building stood abandoned for a number of years before being lovingly restored in 2009.