Today Alpine Ontario Alpin (AOA) announces Team Ontario to compete in the 2019 Canada Winter Games. AOA would like to thank all of the clubs, coaches, officials and volunteers for contributing to the Rossiter U16 Mid-Winter Series that concluded Monday afternoon at the Georgian Peaks Club in the Town of the Blue Mountains. The four-day series, including two slalom and two giant slalom races, was the Ontario-wide qualifier for the Canada Winter Games with all four AOA Divisions competing equally for a spot on Team Ontario.

AOA congratulates the following athletes on their selection to represent Ontario at the 2019 Canada Winter Games!!

Nikki Finoro – National Ski Academy, Collingwood
Tessa Foote – National Ski Academy, Toronto
Gillian Hamilton – National Capital Outaouais Ski Team, Ottawa
Cadence Kiss – Alpine Ski Club, Toronto
Penny Robinson – Thunder Bay Franco Alpine Ski Team, Shuniah
Lily Sewell – National Ski Academy, Collingwood
Natalie Stewart – Craigleith Ski Club, Toronto

Kyle Blandford – Georgian Peaks Club, Oakville
Robert Doman – Osler Bluff Ski Club, Oakville
James Gatcliffe – Georgian Peaks Club, Toronto
Benjamin Neylan – National Ski Academy, Toronto
Ellis Reid – Craigleith Ski Club, Collingwood
Aleksas Valadka – Georgian Peaks Club, Oakville
Ben Weingust – Craigleith Ski Club, Toronto

Team Ontario was allocated 14 spots – 7 women, 7 men for the alpine team. The selections were based on the event gold medal winners with the remaining spots allocated using the World Cup (WC) 500 point system for the best 3 of 4 events total. The alpine skiing portion of the Canada Winter Games takes place in the second week of the games from February 23th to March 3rd. The alpine host venues are Nakiska and Canyon Ski Resort. For more information on the event please visit the official website here

08 Feb 2019