mycollingwood.ca - you are here
mycollingwood.ca - make us your homepage
        
mycollingwood.ca - the place to be in Southern Georgian Bay

Spring 2015 Author Talks (Posted On: Friday, March 13, 2015)

 Decrease font 

Ever wonder what goes on in a writer's mind to create a novel or non-fiction book? Come to the Collingwood Public Library for Spring 2015 Author Talks to hear four writers read from their work and discuss how they came up with their ideas.

Collingwood Public Library Author Talks is a series presented each spring and fall, which brings popular Canadian authors to Collingwood for an hour of discussion followed by a book signing.

The Spring 2015 line-up includes:

Thursday, April 9: Stephen Smith discusses Puckstruck

Stephen Smith talks about his life-long love of hockey and his journey to discover what the game has to say about who we are as Canadians.

Thursday, April 23: Catherine Gildiner discusses Coming Ashore

Creemore author Catherine Gildiner reminisces about coming of age in the 1960s, with experiences on Carnaby Street in London, the Hough Ghetto Riots in Cleveland, and the FLQ in Toronto.

Thursday, May 14: Arlene F. Marks discusses The Accidental God

Nottawasaga Bay author Arlene F. Marks talks about the importance of laughter and reads from her new novel, which combines science fiction with comic fun.

Thursday, June 11: Hilary Scharper discusses Perdita

Hilary Scharper talks about her debut novel, a gothic tale of love and loss set in Georgian Bay in the tradition of Jane Eyre, Rebecca, and Wuthering Heights.

Talks take place between 7:00 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. in the FreeSchools World Literacy Room at the Collingwood Public Library, 55 Ste Marie Street. Events are free, but as seats are limited, register online at our website, in-person at the Library Public Services Desk, or call 705-445-1571.

The Collingwood Public Library is committed to guiding our community in the pursuit of information, the wonder of lifelong learning, and the enrichment of social and cultural experiences. At the heart of the community, the Collingwood Public Library is an inclusive environment seeking universal accessibility.


Share

©2017 SuiGeneris Marketing. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use  |  Privacy

mycollingwood.ca is not responsible for any errors or omissions. Please notify us of any changes.

Register
Community Photo Gallery
Visit Area Attractions
Double Dollars on mycollingwood.ca
Area Events