H.M.S. Nancy and War of 1812 exhibits featured at the Collingwood Museum. This exhibit will be featured until May 25th 2012.
American gunboats blasted the shores of historic Wasaga Beach on August 14, 1814. In 1928 the sunken hull of H.M.S. Nancy was recovered from the bed of the Nottawasaga River, along with a 32 lb cannon ball that is currently on exhibit at the Collingwood Museum.
The story of H.M.S. Nancy is one of our area's best kept secrets - so secret that many aren't familiar with its fascinating story. Built as a private cargo vessel in 1789, the Nancy was called into service by the British during the War of 1812. With the American's defeat of the British in the Battle of Lake Erie, H.M.S. Nancy became the sole surviving British ship on the Upper Lakes.
To learn about the Nancy's last stand and the bravery of its crew, visit the Collingwood Museum before it's too late. The cannon ball will be returning to Nancy Island Historic Site on May 23, 2012.
The Archives of Ontario's War of 1812 travelling exhibit is also on display to help place the Nancy's story in the context of Ontario's history and the War of 1812 in general. The panels feature the diaries and correspondence of those involved in the War of 1812, as well as artwork, maps and photographs that assist in illustrating this fascinating part of Ontario's history.
We invite you to explore the history of our area and learn about the War of 1812 in Upper Canada. Both exhibits will be featured until May 25, 2012.
For additional information please contact Collingwood Museum staff at (705) 445-4811 or by email email@example.com.